Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes November 20, 2014 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Auditorium

Pradeep Kumar called the meeting to order at 3:03 p.m. October 2014 minutes were approved.

Chair's Report

Pradeep Kumar, Faculty Senate Chair

- APB Blue Team is in place. Members appointed are: Fiona Barnes (COB), Robert Hochmuth (IFAS), Madeline Joseph (MED-J) and Jane Smith (CLAS).
- Senate appointments to the UFOnline Advisory Committee are: Craig Tapley (COB), Lynn
 O'Sickey (Advising), Wendell Porter (IFAS), Jack Mecholsky (Engineering), Darin Acosta (CLAS)
 and Susan Semple-Rowland (MED).
- As a reminder, the next Senate meeting will be December 11.
- Chair Kumar explained to the Senate that he will be retiring on March 31. Paul Davenport, Chair-elect will take over on April 1.

President's Report

Bernie Machen, President

- President Machen announced that all at the University of Florida send condolences and prayers to the victims and to our colleagues on the campus who are faculty and members or the FSU community.
- President Machen explained what UF has done to make our campus as safe as it can be.
 - o In September UPD increased its presence during evening hours. Chief Stump will provide greater police visibility in such places as the libraries, HSC, Law School.
 - Spoke to GPD about working together in case such as event should happen at UF. UF has always done mock-ups of "what if's" this would happen.
 - Chief Stump has reached out to her FSU counterpart to offer assistance.
 - Continuing transportation program that UF increased earlier for students at night. This
 includes doubling the number of SNAP vans, two circulator buses, extending the Later
 Gater hours, and providing police and student escorts for students on campus at late
 hours.
 - UFPD has long standing training for staff and students on how to respond in situations when there's an active shooter.
 - UF has a behavioral consultation team of mental health professionals that meets regularly.
 - Charlie Lane, COO, has created an ongoing working groups that meets regularly on the topic of making the campus safe.
 - Our UF Alert system where we communicate with each other emergencies. It is an optin system and we need everyone to realize how important it is to have more people engaged in this system.
 - We are looking into additional safety measures to implement in the future.

Provost's Report

Joe Glover, Provost

- College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Dean search is underway and the Provost encourages faculty to make nominations and assist the search the committee.
- Within the next week there will be a formal launch for the search of the Dean for College of Law. The Provost encourages faculty to nominate and assist the search committee.
- Questions:
- Concern was raised that the Music facility is lacking in proper heat. This
 is a chronic problem and our facilities are worse than many high

schools. The Provost replied that Physical Plant understands about the cold music building and is working on addressing the problem. PECO funds are also used for renovation and upkeep of the buildings. However, the revenue source for PECO funds has collapsed due to fewer people using land line telephones. The legislature has discussed how to replace the PECO revenue source or find the funding to replace the PECO revenue source. As of today they have not found a solution.

Action Items:

Honorary Degrees

Stratford May, Chair,

Honorary Degree Committee

• The Senate approved Phillip Frost for an Honorary Degree.

Department Structure Change

in the College of Nursing

• This item was approved.

Bernard Mair, Associate Provost, Undergraduate Affairs

<u>Approve Homecoming Holiday – Nov. 6, 2015</u>

Bernard Mair, Associate Provost

Undergraduate Affairs

- Concerns were raised by David Groisser and Edith Kaan about the difficulty teaching classes with so many holidays in November.
 - This item was approved. (42 voted to approve [34 onsite and 8 offsite] and 17 against
 [16 onsite and 1 offsite])

Information Items:

University Curriculum Committee

Bernard Mair, Assoc. Provost Undergraduate Affairs

- Approve Academic Calendar for 2018-2019
 - David Groisser proposed that Veteran's Day be observed on Sunday, November 11 instead of Monday, November 12
 - Edith Kaan asked about the early starting date of August 21. Dr. Mair explained that August 21 was chosen to keep the end of the semester too far down into December and graduation.

Graduate Council

Paul Duncan, Assoc. Dean, Graduate School

- New Major Sustainable Construction
- Close Major MAT Philosophy

Constitution Committee

Christine Fruin, Chair, Constitution Committee

- Proposed Revision of Bylaw 20(A)(2)(b)2
 - o These edits were brought more in line with the Academic Personnel Board regulation.

Faculty IT Subcommittee

Frank Bova, Chair, Faculty IT Subcommittee

• Frank Bova gave a short presentation on the Faculty IT Subcommittee that was created in 2013 by Faculty Senate Chair Cheri Brodeur.

Campus Master Plan 2025

Linda Dixon, Associate Director Planning, Design and Construction

Meeting adjourned at 4:24 p.m.

Senators Attending

Valrie Minson John Abbitt Carrie Adams Paul Mueller Jane Bachelor Larry Muszynski Derek Barber **Esther Obonyo** Lars Beattie Walter O'Dell Jim Bice Barbara Pace Gary Boulware **Jorg Peters** Kendal Broad **Andrew Pitkin** Samantha Brooks Caryn Plummer Clay Calvert George Pringle **Cindy Prins Deb Cupples** Tammy Davidson **Patrick Reakes** Julie Dodd Sarah Reuss Silvio dos Santos Mary Risner **Robert Emerson Andrew Rosalsky** Lyn Gettys Richard Rose Katerie Gladdys Peter Sayeski Renee Goodrich Elizabeth Shephard

Christopher Scuderi Linda Hayward Nipa Shah Darryl Heard Steve Shugan **Phyllis Hendry Daniel Siragusa Cindy Higgins** Maya Stanfield-Mazzi

Susan Semple-Rowland

Daniel Hoh Keith Stanfill Alice Holmes Nicole Stedman Amanda House **Stacey Steinberg**

Aida Hozic Margaret Temple-Smith

David Therriault Ray Issa

Sonal Tuli **Delores James**

Rae Jesano **Heather Vincent** Melissa Johnson Katie Vogel-Anderson Edith Kaan Ann Wehmeyer Barbara Welsch Mike Katovich Akito Kawahara Nicole Whitehead Caroline Wiltshire Hayk Khachatryan Mary Agnes Keith **Andrew Wolpert** Dragan Kujundzic **Henry Young** Mary Ellen Young Mei-Fang Lan

Sherry Larkin

David Groisser

Jacob Hammer

Haniph Latchman Liaisons Lora Levett Christine Fruin **Alex Lucas** Joe Glover Bill Mahan Marc Heft

Pradeep Kumar Bernie Machen Anna McDaniel Barbara Wingo

Students

Josh Neumann

Guests Frank Bova Peggy Carr Linda Dixon Paul Duncan Bernard Mair